Samatha Meditation Thangka, 9 stages of Samatha Practice, Thangka Print

SKU: 19490

USD 180

Hooray! This item ships free.

9 stages of Samatha Practice, Shamatha Meditation Thangka Print

Original Size of Thangka ( 16 x 24 inches )

This pictorial depiction portrayed on a Samatha thangka painting is the nine progressive stages of mental development which are obtained through the "Six powers of Study, Contemplation, Memory, Comprehension, Diligence, and Perfection. There is a burning flame on a side, representing the degree of effort required to develop both the mindful recollection and the understandings. These flames gradually diminish in each progressive stage. 
Portrayed here, is the monk, holding a hooked goad and a lasso, which represent the clear understanding and the mindful recollection. The elephant represents the mind and its black color, the mental dullness. The monkey is the distraction or mental agitation. It is also black in color. This is why Samatha meditation is incredibly profound. 

Estimated arrival


Order placed


Order ships



-Not mounted on a traditional brocade
-Tibetan Silk brocade available in a variety of colors and quality
-Price ranges from $35 to $100 depending upon the silk quality
-Additional 3 business days for this service
-Free Shipping or $ 25 with a frame
-Standard Courier Services DHL only
-4-10 business days for delivery
-All items are insured
Return Policy:
-Returns are accepted within 14 business days.
-You can ship either to Nepal or Texas (USA), whichever works better for you.
We will be more than happy to answer all your questions.
Please contact us to:
- Custom order a thangka of any Vajrayana deity. Usually, it takes 2-5 months (depending on complexity) to finish such a thangka of average size.

May everything be auspicious!

You may also like